Why I Choose to Donate Blood

March 1, 2012-Posted by Allyssa Farris

For as long as I can remember, I have admired individuals that give blood on a regular basis. They donate an hour of their time, and in return, have the opportunity to save up to three lives with this pint of donated blood.

This is a sweet arrangement, and someone has to do it – just not me.

When we had blood drives in school, my friends would always encourage me to sign up to donate blood. I always felt bad saying no, but my demanding major, two jobs and family responsibilities accompanied with my fear of needles prevented me from giving back to the community in this way.

As my phobia of needles lessened with age, I reexamined my resistance to giving blood.  On December 29, 2011, I decided it was time to conquer this fear and donate blood. After story after story of people who benefited from blood donations, I decided it was my turn to donate one pint of blood and help save three lives.

Was it the story of Roxann whose baby had a chance to survive because of weekly blood transfusions?

Or Alejandra‘s story of her mother’s need for blood transfusions due to anemia and kidney failure? Or the dozens of stories of accidents where individuals would have died without blood transfusions? After hearing countless stories from www.redcrossblood.org, I realized the need for blood really is constant. I discovered that I could help my community in this way.

With the support of my friends, I donated blood for the first time at my place of work – the American Red Cross of Greater Grand Rapids.  At first my anxiety did not waver, but I was determined to follow through with my donation. In the end, the blood donation process was much easier than I thought. I never even felt it, and afterwards I had a great feeling that I had potentially made a difference in someone’s life.

I encourage YOU to find a reason to donate blood and to keep your fears, anxieties, schedules or whatever it may be from stopping you. Knowing that I have helped make a difference in someone’s life is why I will donate blood for the second time this Friday, March 2 from 11:30-5:30pm tomorrow at the American Red Cross of Greater Grand Rapids.

Now the question  is, who’s joining me?

 

Give Blood.

Friday, March 2nd

11:30 p.m.-5:30 p.m.

American Red Cross Chapter

1050 Fuller NE

Grand Rapids, MI 49503

Call 616-456-8661 for more information. Walk-ins are welcome!

Leave a Reply

