Meet Andrea, our New Director of Health and Safety!

We have a new face around our chapter! Andrea Dunne-Sosa has joined the team as our Director of Health and Safety Services. We wanted a chance for her to introduce herself, so read on and welcome Andrea (pictured below on the right with fellow team member Jen Moore):

I began my personal journey as an American Red Cross HIV/AIDS peer educator in the early years of the epidemic, helping to establish the first education programs in high schools throughout the Grand Rapids area.  Motivated by this experience, I worked in HIV/AIDS and diabetes education for eight years in rural Arizona, served as a Fulbright Student Scholar in the Dominican Republic where I lived for nearly two years, and completed a Masters in Public Health from Columbia University in New York City while working as an Asthma Health Educator at Harlem Hospital Center.

With this diverse experience behind me, I am honored to come “full circle” and return to my hometown to provide leadership and once again give back to the American Red Cross of Greater Grand Rapids.  My pride and joy is my four-year-old son, Justin, and in my free-time I enjoy salsa dancing, traveling, hiking, reading, and spending time with family.

Leave a Reply

