Eight Celebs Come On as Red Crossers

Did you know the Red Cross has a Celebrity Cabinet?

While that brings to mind a large, fancy cupboard stuffed full of movie stars, musicians and sports figures, it is decidedly not. (That sounds rather uncomfortable and stuffy, actually.) Rather, the Celebrity Cabinet is a board of over 40 well-respected celebrity figures who are, like you, Red Crossers at heart. They come on board and are “on-call” to help the Red Cross by donating their time, skills, passion and energy for a one-year term when it’s needed most.

Current Celebrity Cabinet member, country star Sara Evans

This week, the National Red Cross celebrity cabinet opens its arms to welcome eight new members, including:

  • Actor Penn Badgley, who is best known as Dan Humphrey on the television series Gossip Girl
  • Giselle Blondet, a Puerto Rican who has long established herself as one of Spanish-language television’s most distinguished and popular on-air personalities
  • Actor Josh Duhamel, who appeared in the hit movie Transformers
  • Country music superstar Wynonna Judd
  • Actor and hip hop music icon, LL Cool J
  • Award winning actress and country music superstar Reba McEntire
  • Actress and humanitarian, Alyssa Milano
  • Actor, comedian and television personality David Spade

Hear why Celebrity Cabinet members support the Red Cross:

“When I was a young schoolboy at the Beijing Opera Academy in Hong Kong, I was very poor and yearned for some of the most basic things in life. My fellow students were in similar need and it was at this time that a representative from the Red Cross arrived, bringing us supplies. My classmates and I were so grateful and touched and I vowed to always remember this generosity. When I asked what I could do to repay the Red Cross, the representative told me that the best way would be to pass on the kindness in the future if I were ever able to. I never forgot his words and as soon as I could, I established the Jackie Chan Charitable Foundation and have been working for charitable causes for nearly 20 years.

I will forever be indebted to the Red Cross for the comfort they provided to me when I was a child and I am honored to be a Red Cross Cabinet member.” – Jackie Chan, actor and martial arts expert

“After Sept. 11 in New York, after the Tsunami, after Hurricane Katrina and Rita and Wilma, The Red Cross was there to assist the victimized people with remarkable speed, grace, and humility. I had flown down on my own to the Astrodome, and once there worked with the Red Cross and the YMCA to set up a reading center. I basically read to the kids and tried to allievate some of the grief surrounding me. It was during this time that I was invited to be on the Red Cross Celebrity Cabinet, and I decided to commit because as I watched their wonderful organization assist so many people, I wanted to be available to be USED. Its like the words in that old 70’s song: “If it feels this good being used…then just keep on using me…until you use me up.” – Marcia Gay Hayden, actress

“Whenever a natural disaster occurs, it is always the Red Cross that responds quickly and compassionately. I am honored to lend my voice to their cause, and thrilled to serve on the Celebrity Cabinet for 2010.” – Reba McEntire, actress and country music superstar

[Photo credit here]

Leave a Reply

