Saturdays + Pancakes = Goodness

I cannot tell a lie – I love to sleep in on Saturday mornings.  There’s something so refreshing about waking up slowly to the sun shining through my window, staying warm under the covers, maybe reading The Dark Is Rising until I feel like eating breakfast.

My other favorite thing to do on Saturday mornings is eat pancakes; this used to be a family ritual when I lived at home.  (I made pancakes with my brother and sister on a Monday once, and it just wasn’t the same.)  This Saturday, I’m trading one favorite Saturday activity for another.  I will be at the Electric Cheetah at 6am to serve pancakes for the American Red Cross Ride for Refugees Pancake Breakfast.  Here’s what my co-worker Sarah has to say about the event:

There are over 67 million refugees all over the globe.  They are fleeing war, presecution, and tribal violence.  The American Red Cross of Greater Grand Rapids, together with restaurant owner Cori DeMint, is hosting an All-You-Can-Eat pancake breakfast at the Electric Cheetah to reaise money for their Ride for Refugees team.

Ride for Refugees is a growing worldwide movement of people riding bikes, raising money, and advocating for refugees.  The fundraiser supports international and local agencies – including us! – that assist refugees in route and upon arrive to their new life in America.

Ther American Red Cross of Greater Grand Rapids provides tracing and communication services between separated refugee family members.  The chapter is also expanding its services to increase community awareness of not only the plight of refugees but also their remarkable determination, will to survive, and contributions to the Grand Rapids community.  Through funds raised in the Ride, the Red Cross’ services will grow and provide a solid resource for refugees resettled in Grand Rapids.

Where: Electric Cheetah, 1050 Wealthy St. SE

When: September 19, 6-10 am

Price: $5 minimum donation

Though I must sacrifice my warm bed for these pancakes, y0u don’t have to!  Take your time.  Enjoy the fall morning.  Eat with family and friends, converse and laugh, drink some juice, get syrup on your hands … change the life of a refugee

Because who doesn’t like pancakes on a Saturday morning?

One response to “Saturdays + Pancakes = Goodness

  1. If I had to sacrifice my warm bed to help in something as good & as noble as this, I would be really proud to do so. So, you are not alone in this pursuit my friend. You have friends who would like to be in your shoes.

Leave a Reply

