Woman thanks Red Cross for Hurricane Sandy response

Since Hurricane Sandy hit the East Coast more than two months ago, many people have expressed gratitute to the Red Cross for their response. Here’s one of the many letters we recieved:

“I have to thank the Red Cross. I live in Staten Island and was affected by Hurricane Sandy. There are many people here who were affected worse than me. But to see the Red Cross coming to my block to serve us food day after day brought tears to my eyes. We were without power for twelve days. We had to throw out a lot of food. We just received power last night but haven’t had a chance to go food shopping yet. Whenever I heard the siren of the Red Cross truck I knew I was getting my hot meal. You have been here since a day or so after the storm and have fed many people who needed you. God bless you and your organization. Now I must get back to my nice hot meal that was just given to me from your truck.”

Mary C.
Staten Island, NY

November 7, 2012, Staten Island, New York. Red Cross Emergency Response Vehicle patrols one of the most devastated parts of Staten Island looking for people who need a sandwich, a hot meal, or something to drink. Photo by Talia Frenkel/American Red Cross.

November 7, 2012, Staten Island, New York. Red Cross Emergency Response Vehicle patrols one of the most devastated parts of Staten Island looking for people who need a sandwich, a hot meal, or something to drink. Photo by Talia Frenkel/American Red Cross.

Leave a Reply

